Problem for millions of women

You might also know this: The bladder doesn´t hold the urin any more and a few drops or a whole barrage of urin gets lost unintentionally. While this can be controlled still reasonably by sanitary towels, it becomes very uncomfortable when the urine can not be held any more at all. In the beginning you can still stand it for 10 minutes when you first get the urge to urinate,  but then it gets shorter and shorter, until you no longer will eventually reach the toilet in time. Most women feel very uncomfortable with their problem and have difficulties to talk about their situation, it takes a great effort to overcome this. They also have difficulties to take and accept help as they often have made the experience that no one can help them properly. Instead, the everyday life is adjusted to the urinary incontinence and the whole life is set up around this. Accordingly, life must be planned that a toilet is constantly nearby. Social life and spontaneity is suffering a lot.

There are two types of incontinence: stress-and urge urinary incontinence. Stress urinary incontinence defines the uncontrolled loss of urine during stress when coughing, sneezing, climbing stairs or abrupt body movements. This form of incontinence is good treatable, as there are various,effective treatment options for quite some time.

The situation is different for urge urinary incontinence. Women who suffer from it, are not able to hold the urin properly or even hold the urine at all, they need  to go immediately to a toilet for urination.

How arises urge urinary incontinence

At most women aged between 40 and 60 years starts a general weakness of the connective tissue. This means that the holding bands in the pelvis, involving uterus, vagina, bladder and intestine, lose their elasticity and also their holding function. A descensus of the pelvic organs is the consequence and this leads to urge incontinence.

For a better understanding the anatomical structures are represented as a bridge. Here, the bony structures pubis and ischium serve as the “pillars of the bridge”. The “roadway” (vagina) hangs on the front and rear holding ropes (PUL + USL).

  • Brücke2
  • S= Ischium
  • U =Uterus
  • B = Bladder
  • R = Rectum
  • V = Vagina
  • PB = Pubic Bone
  • USL = rear holding bands
  • PUL = front holding bands

 If both ropes are intact, the bridge is fully functional. If a rope is loose however, the roadway becomes slack. The bridge (bladder) can no longer meet it´s function.  If a rope is lying on the ground, there is no longer any control over the bladder and the woman loses urine at any opportunity. The clinical symptoms are usually the result of broken ropes – front, rear or in both places. They must be replaced, in order to fully restore the function of the bridge.

Diagnosis

beratung

Urinary incontinence is not an independent disease, but a symptom of a disease of the bladder or  weakness of the connective tissue of the ligaments and muscles in the pelvis.To initiate a successful therapy, the exact cause has to be determined first.

For this purpose, a detailed medical history (anamnesis) is taken. Using a special questionnaire, the individual history and other important factors are collected. These include for example questions about when an urine loss occurs or how long it is still possible to keep the urine in the bladder.

This is followed by a normal gynecological examination, which could be possibly completed by a ultrasound diagnosis. Within 15 to 20 minutes, this gives a reliable diagnosis where the defect – that is the cause of the incontinence – is and how to treat it.

Ein Problem von Millionen Frauen

Vielleicht kennen Sie das auch: Die Blase hält nicht mehr dicht und ungewollt gehen ein paar Tropfen oder ein ganzer Schwall Urin verloren. Während dies durch Vorlagen noch einigermaßen zu kontrollieren ist, wird es sehr unangenehm, wenn Sie den Urin nicht mehr einhalten können. Anfangs können Sie es noch 10 Minuten aushalten, „wenn die Blase sich meldet“ – dann wird es jedoch immer kürzer und kürzer, bis Sie irgendwann die Toilette nicht mehr rechtzeitig erreichen. Den meisten Betroffenen ist ihre Blasenschwäche unangenehm. Es fällt schwer, darüber zu sprechen und Hilfe in Anspruch zu nehmen, zumal sie nicht selten die Erfahrung gemacht haben, dass ihnen niemand richtig helfen kann. Stattdessen wird der Alltag der Harninkontinenz angepasst und das ganze Leben richtet sich fortan nach der Blase. Alle Wege müssen so geplant werden, dass ständig eine Toilette in der Nähe ist. Darunter leiden das gesellschaftliche Leben und die Spontanität.

Man unterscheidet zwei Formen der Inkontinenz: die Stress- sowie die Dranginkontinenz. Unter Stress- oder Belastungsinkontinenz versteht man den unkontrollierten Urinverlust z. B. beim Husten, Niesen, Treppensteigen oder abrupten Körperbewegungen. Diese Inkontinenzform ist gut behandelbar, da es seit längerem effektive Therapiemöglichkeiten gibt.
Anders sieht es bei der Dranginkontinenz aus. Frauen, die darunter leiden, können den Urin nicht mehr richtig bzw. gar nicht mehr einhalten und müssen bei Harndrang umgehend eine Toilette aufsuchen.

Wie entsteht Dranginkontinenz

Bei den meisten Frauen kommt es zwischen dem 40. und 60. Lebensjahr zu einer generellen Bindegewebsschwäche. Sie bewirkt, dass die Haltebänder im Becken (Gebärmutter, Scheide, Blase und Darm) ihre Spannkraft und ihre Haltefunktion verlieren. In der Folge senken sich die Beckenorgane ab und es entsteht eine Dranginkontinenz.

Um die Zusammenhänge besser zu verstehen, kann man sich das Becken wie eine Brücke vorstellen. Dabei sind die knöchernen Strukturen Scham- und Sitzbein die Brückenpfeiler. Die Scheide ist die Fahrbahn, die hinten an den Halteseilen aufgehängt ist.

  • S= Sitzbein
  • U = Gebärmutter
  • B = Blase
  • R = Enddarm
  • V = Scheide
  • PB = Schambein
  • USL = hintere Haltebänder
  • PUL = vordere Haltebänder

Sind beide Halteseile intakt, ist die Brücke voll funktionsfähig. Ist aber ein Seil ausgeleiert, hängt die Fahrbahn durch und die Brücke wird schief. Der Fluss (d.h. die Blasenfunktion) ist erheblich gestört. Sind vorderes, hinteres oder sogar beide Seile gerissen, hängt die Brücke komplett im Wasser. Dann ist gar keine Kontrolle mehr über die Blase vorhanden.

Diagnose

beratungHarninkontinenz ist kein eigenständiges Krankheitsbild, sondern ein Symptom für eine Erkrankung der Harnblase oder eine Bindegewebsschwäche der Bänder und Muskeln im Becken. Um eine erfolgreiche Therapie einzuleiten, muss zunächst die genaue Ursache ermittelt werden.

Dazu wird zunächst eine ausführliche Anamnese gemacht. Mit einem speziellen Fragebogen werden die individuelle Vorgeschichte sowie weitere wichtige Faktoren erhoben. Dazu gehören z. B. Fragen, wann ein Urinverlust auftritt oder wie lange ein Einhalten des Urins noch möglich ist.

Im Anschluss erfolgt eine normale gynäkologische Untersuchung, die ggf. durch eine Ultraschalldiagnostik ergänzt wird. Innerhalb von 15 bis 20 Minuten ist gesichert, wo der Defekt – also die Ursache für die Inkontinenz – liegt und wie man ihn behandeln kann.