Patient Samples

 Helga N., 73 years old, married, 3 children

After her last two difficult births Helga N. suffers from mild bladder weakness. With the onset of menopause, there was a dramatic deterioration. Permanent urine loss has resulted in the patient no longer participating in sports, activities and trips. An almost complete withdrawal from social life has taken place, which is perceived as isolation, especially as she can no longer keep step with the still active partner.

At the christening of her youngest grandchild, there was a key moment. During the celebratory lunch Ms. N. had to get up in order to change her pad whereby a granddaughter was heard to say in the silence: „Look, grandmother is dripping.“ Helga N. left the gathering deeply depressed and embarrassed.

Helga N.‘s daughter has only now learned of her mother’s bladder weakness and contacted the Department of Urogynecology and Pelvic Floor Surgery of the Cologne University Women’s Clinic. Here Mrs. N. had successful surgery in April 2012. According to her own statement, since then she has been able to do all the things that were previously not possible. These include, among other things, travelling, participating in cultural events and also visiting the playground with her grandchildren. Helga N. assesses the situation after her surgery as „being given the gift of life again“.

Gertrud K., 78 years old, widowed

Ms. K. reports that since the onset of menopause she has frequently had to go to the toilet. Her husband, even though he had to constantly wait outside the ladies‘ room, was very understanding.

Some time after her husband’s death in 2002 she made a new acquaintance, but out of shame over her permanent loss of urine she withdrew from the relationship, which still makes her unhappy today. Ms. K. had endured many treatment methods, including invasive ones. In addition to pelvic floor exercises she had a TVT applied and then removed and medications did not produce the desired result. In desperation, Ms. K. had Botox injections, which initially actually alleviated the symptoms. After the third series however she had to catheterize herself since independent urination was no longer possible.

Just when she had almost given up the hope of living a carefree life, she saw by chance a TV report about the successful surgical treatment of female urinary incontinence by CESA/VASA at the Department of Urogynecology and Pelvic Floor Surgery of the Cologne University Women’s Clinic and she made an appointment at the office. In August 2012, Mrs. K. underwent the procedure. Since then she is continent and can once again participate with her circle of friends in an active life. She feels particularly positive that she can now leave the house carefree and not have to make sure she limits the amount she drinks. She feels „completely comfortable“ and regrets that she did not learn about this opportunity much sooner.

Erfahrungsberichte

Helga N., 73 Jahre, verheiratet, 3 Kinder

Nach ihren beiden letzten schweren Geburten leidet Helga N. unter leichter Blasenschwäche. Mit Beginn der Menopause kommt es zu einer dramatischen Verschlechterung. Permanenter Urinverlust führt dazu, dass die Patientin auf Sport, Unternehmungen und Reisen verzichtet. Nach und nach erfolgt ein nahezu kompletter Rückzug aus dem sozialen Leben, der als Vereinsamung empfunden wird, zumal mit dem nach wie vor aktiven Partner nicht mehr Schritt gehalten werden kann.

Bei der Taufe ihres jüngsten Enkelkindes kommt es zu einem Schlüsselerlebnis. Beim feierlichen Mittagessen muss Frau N. aufstehen, um die Vorlage zu wechseln, worauf eine Enkelin in die Stille ruft: „Guck mal, die Omi tropft.“ Helga N. verlässt darauf tief deprimiert und beschämt die Gesellschaft.

Helga N.‘s Tochter erfährt erst jetzt von der Blasenschwäche ihrer Mutter und stellt den Kontakt zur Abteilung Urogynäkologie und Beckenbodenchirurgie der Universitäts-Frauenklink Köln her. Hier wird Frau N. im April 2012 erfolgreich operiert. Nach eigenen Aussagen kann sie seither all die Dinge machen, die ihr bis dahin nicht mehr möglich waren. Dazu gehören u.a. Reisen, die Teilnahme an kulturellen Veranstaltungen und nicht zuletzt der Besuch auf dem Spielplatz gemeinsam mit ihren Enkelkindern. Helga N. beurteilt die Situation nach der OP so, dass ihr „das Leben neu geschenkt“ wurde.

Gertrud K., 78 Jahre, verwitwet

Frau K. gibt an, seit Beginn der Wechseljahre sehr häufig zur Toilette gehen zu müssen. Ihr Mann ist, auch wenn ihm das ständige Warten vor der Damentoilette lästig erscheint, sehr verständnisvoll.

Einige Zeit nach dem Tod ihres Mannes im Jahr 2002 macht sie eine neue Bekanntschaft, zieht sich jedoch aus Scham über ihren ständigen Urinverlust aus der Beziehung zurück, was sie heute noch unglücklich macht. Frau K. lässt viele – auch invasive – Behandlungsmethoden über sich ergehen. Neben Beckenbodengymnastik wird ein TVT gelegt und wieder entfernt; auch Medikamente zeigen nicht den gewünschten Erfolg. In ihrer Verzweiflung lässt sich Frau K. Botox-Injektionen verabreichen, die die Symptomatik tatsächlich zunächst mildern. Nach der dritten Serie muss sie sich allerdings selbst katheterisieren, da selbstständiges Wasserlassen gar nicht mehr möglich ist.

Als sie die Hoffnung, ein unbeschwertes Leben führen zu können, schon fast aufgegeben hat, sieht sie durch Zufall einen TV-Beitrag, in dem über die erfolgreiche operative Behandlung der weiblichen Harninkontinenz durch CESA / VASA an der Abteilung für Urogynäkologie und Beckenbodenchirurgie der Universitäts-Frauenklinik Köln berichtet wird und meldet sich für die Sprechstunde an. Im August 2012 wird der Eingriff bei Frau K. durchgeführt. Seitdem ist sie kontinent und kann gemeinsam mit ihrem Freundeskreis wieder am aktiven Leben teilnehmen. Als besonders positiv empfindet sie, dass sie jetzt unbeschwert das Haus verlassen kann und nicht mehr darauf achten muss, die Trinkmenge einzuschränken. Sie fühlt sich „rundum wohl“ und bedauert, nicht schon viel eher von dieser Möglichkeit erfahren zu haben.